Craig-649 On Singapore- 7 Travel Tips For Staying At The Marina Bay Sands Hotel

Craig note- I just got back from Singapore. I’ll be posting some super, super, super content while I am on hiatus from the salt mines! I went all out to celebrate ten great years of marriage with my lovely wife.

(This post is neither an endorsement nor a compensated post for the Marina Bay Sands Hotel.)

Cover Art- Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

(Enjoy!)

On Staying At The Marina Bay Sands Hotel

IMG_0733

I stayed with my family over the National Day four-day weekend. The hotel was basically sold out.

On The Check-In

IMG_0626

It was a busy time. The standard check-in line looked long. I went on a group tour, so my check-in was done before I arrived. But, yes, people waited a bit to get their rooms.

Travel Tip- Go to Singapore on a tour. I walked in the hotel, and I had a key in my hand ten seconds later.

On The Room

IMG_1892

The room was clean. It was spacious. I believe I had a premium suite. And, no, it was not cheap. National Day saw room prices soar. I paid a bit over 80,000 yen (800 USD) a night. It was worth it.

Travel Tip- If you can, you should book a room in Tower One. It offers the easiest access to the famous Infinity Pool.

On The Infinity Pool

IMG_1140

I read how crowded the Infinity Pool would be during peak times. So, I went at 6 a.m.

We were the only people in the pool. I took pictures for about 30 minutes before anybody else showed up. It was dark, but the skyline views were awesome.

The second morning we went later after 7:30. There were maybe 100 people around the pool. I took more pictures of my family, and we swam with plenty of room to spare.

I heard the pool was busier at night, but a woman in my tour group said she still had space to enjoy the pool.

Travel Tip- It is great to go early to be alone. But, sunrise in Singapore is about 7:15 a.m. local time. You can eat breakfast first and then head to the pool.

On The Breakfast Buffet

IMG_2023

The buffet was good. The food was fresh. The service was excellent. And, it was a good value. I paid about 25 dollars for my kid’s breakfast. But, it was well worth it. I went to breakfast the first day at 6:30. And, there was nobody waiting in line.

The second morning I went after 7 a.m. and it was busier, but there was no wait. Both days, people were waiting in long lines at 10:30 to get in to breakfast. But, that’s not on the hotel.

Travel Tip- The breakfast buffet is great. There are actually different places to eat breakfast in the hotel, but it is all the same. Rise on the first floor offers a great chance to people-watch.

On The Room Service

IMG_2206

I ordered a late night room service snack. The pizza was large. It was crispy and tasty. My beers were cold. And, the Singapore Sling was strong and well made.

The staff was friendly both on the phone and in the room. Room service was not cheap. But, again, it is a five-star hotel.

I thought 10,500 yen (105 dollars) for a pizza, chilled apple juice, two beers, and a Singapore Sling was within reason.

By the way, it is not cheap to drink alcohol in Singapore. But, I thought I deserved something after ten years of marriage.

Travel Tip- Room service is easy to order. The menu has a letter-number order system. But, you should read the fine print to understand 17% is added to your total. It gets steep quick, fast, and in a hurry.

On The Gift Shop

IMG_0688

I bought several items at the gift shop. The staff was friendly, and they helped me spend the last of my Singapore Dollars.

The gift shop had good quality merchandise at fair prices. I picked up some gifts and t-shirts for my beloved family.

Travel Tip- You might as well spend your Singapore Dollars at the end of your stay. The return exchange rate is terrible.

You need cash in Singapore, but you should budget how much currency you exchange. Otherwise, you will be throwing money away.

On The Check-Out

IMG_0622

People were lined up before 11 a.m. to check-out. The staff was working hard, but; yes, people were waiting.

I was on a Japanese tour with my beloved family. The hotel has a separate desk for Japanese people. I waited about five minutes to check out on Sunday morning.

Travel Tip- If you check out right before 11 a.m., you can expect to wait. Check out closer to 10:30, and then walk over to Gardens By The Bay or the connected shopping area.

On Final Thoughts

IMG_1091
I read 1000s of reviews of the Marina Bay Sands Hotel before my vacation. People’s definition of “busy” is a little suspect in my opinion. I stayed during one of the biggest events of the year in Singapore during a four-day holiday weekend.

The hotel lobby was bustling with action. But, it was nothing compared to the crowds I encounter daily in Japan.

The biggest problem is non-Marina Bay Sands Hotel guests thinking they are “staying” there while walking around through the lobby. But, that’s not the hotel’s fault. Of course, people want to see the hotel.

I found the hotel to be the perfect way to enjoy luxury, location, and fun. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

Bonus Food Picture And Blog Posts

IMG_2222

Craig-477 On “The 6:18 People” And Being A More Spontaneous Expat!

Craig-458 “No (Expat) Is An Island.” And, Perhaps, They Shouldn’t Be

Craig-361 Expat- On Better Days And Food Pictures Make Me Happy

Craig-255 Expat- On Getting Angry

Craig-254 Expat- On Onsen Gaijin

Craig-253 Expat- On Foreign Siddhartha

Craig-252 Expat- On “(Gaijin) The Fool”

Craig-251 Expat- On Dust To (Foreign) Dust

Craig-250 Expat- On Stopping

Craig-249 Expat- On Keeping It Simple

Craig-242 Expat- On “Defying (Foreign) Gravity”

Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

Super Bonus Food Picture And Blog Posts

IMG_2217

CRAIG-446 5 FOODS YOU CAN GET IN JAPAN WHEN YOU DON’T GIVE A $%$% ABOUT PASSING YOUR HEALTH CHECK!

CRAIG-358 TWITTER- ON MARKETING FOR WRITERS, BLOGGERS, CONTENT CREATORS AND ITALIAN FOOD

CRAIG-331- FOOD PICTURES- FAMILY RESTAURANTS IN JAPAN

Leave a comment