Craig-219 Expat- High Expectations, Big Life Potential, And Brutal Honesty

Craig note-  Excerpts from my weekly series to my beloved family and great, great, great friends back home. (Enjoy!)
C9NhUnIVoAEbtkF[1]

On Meeting High Personal Expectations

It was a busy week. But, I was able to get some positive results for a lot of my effort that I put into my life. I don`t think I am quitting my day job any time soon. But, slowly, I am building something very, very, very special. Some day, my life might actually match my expectations.

That would be a first…

Craig Quote- I have high expectations, and I am determined to raise the bar every day.

On Reaching One`s Full Potential In Life

Basically, I am trying to see just how special my life can become here. While I have an amazing life, I really, really, really want something more (just for me).

I could tell you that I was doing the “secret life project” for my family, but that is, in part, not entirely true. And, I know, it`s pure ego, but I want a life that people look at and go, “D#mn, Craig is AWESOME!”

And, I know many, many, many of you do, in fact, believe “D#mn, Craig is AWESOME!” (And, thank you. As do I…) But, deeeeep down, when I am sleeping, I feel a bit of (life) failure. Not in some, bridge-jumping way, rather it is like, “I bet there is more I could get out of my life.” But, I am unsure.

Maybe, there isn`t at 41. I have considered that possibility.

But, the “secret life project” is going to put to rest any doubt I have about what I can be (should be) in life. Either way, I am okay with the outcome, even if, selfishly, I am hoping for an extraordinary one…

Craig Quote- I have one life, and I want to make the most of it (and out of it).

On Honesty With People Close To You

I am a big, big, big believer in telling people how it is. I don`t sugar-coat for anyone. People often hate that (me), but I don`t care one bit. I am a true friend. And, it would be a disservice to struggling people to be anything other than truthful when they come to me for help.

It is the same in the classroom. Students who pay attention, give effort, and have a positive attitude enjoy my classes very, very, very much. And, the students who don`t meet those expectations, well, I imagine the class is the longest 50 minutes of their lives.

But, high English ability is a gateway for many, many, many Japanese people to get good jobs, see the world, and have the ability to interact with a growing number of foreigners here in Japan.

Even as a coworker, I expect people to work at the company. And, when they don`t, I let them know about it. I ask nothing of anyone. And, I do my work 100% each and every day at a very, very, very high level. Coworkers don`t have to be amazing, but they do have to do the job(s) they are assigned.

Craig Quote– I help people, but I do not carry them when they can walk on their own, especially at work.

Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

Got a Question for the Grey, Grizzled, And Gaijin Mailbag? Send it to@craighoffman11 on Twitter!

“When you have expectations, you are setting yourself up for disappointment.”- Ryan Reynolds

Leave a comment